Our organizational structure

County party officers

  • Chair: Joann V. Salazar (jsalazarchair@rioarribadems.org, 505-929-2869)

    Joann has served the Democratic Party of Rio Arriba County in several capacities, including membership in the State Platform Committee, the DNC Delegate Selection Committee, County Vice Chair, and as our Chair for 2019-2021. Joann received a Masters Degree from NMHU and is a former Espanola School Board President, non-profit Executive Director, Chair of the Rio Arriba County Maternal and Child Health Council, and Co-Chair of the Boys and Girls Club Santa Fe/Del Norte. A state retiree, Joann directed and managed statewide health and social service programs and also served as a Deputy Director for now Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham.

    Joann’s calling to public service was strongly influenced by her father, the late Honorable Cipriano Vigil. Her primary goal as County Chair is to increase member participation and voter turn-out and to influence appropriate local and state wide policies that will improve the lives of the citizens of Rio Arriba County.

  • 1st Vice-chair: Luis S. Torres

    Luis S. Torres is a native of northern New Mexico; he has lived in Taos, San Miguel, Santa Fe, Colfax, and Rio Arriba counties. Since 1970 he has worked almost exclusively for private-non-profit organizations. From 1970 to 1974 he worked for a variety of War on Poverty programs. From 1974 to 1984 he was the New Mexico program director for American Friends Service Committee and from 1984 to 1994 he was on the staff of Southwest Research and Information Center. From 1994 to the present he has continued his involvement in community work as a social change agent mostly as a self-supported low-income volunteer.

    In 1995 Luis was named by Highlander Research and Education Center (New Market, Tennessee) as that year’s honorary Myles Horton Chair. Highlander is a social justice leadership training school and cultural center.

    At present Luis serves as Director Emeritus for Highcountry News (Paonia, Colo.); Highcountry News is a multi-platform news services organization that serves mostly the western part of the U.S.

    At present he resides in San Pedro (near Espanola), Rio Arriba county.

  • 2nd Vice-chair: Isabel E. Jewell

    Isabel worked with Loews Hotels in NYC and Toronto as a Director of Sales and Marketing and with Regent International Hotels in Hong Kong as Director of Sales and Marketing. She was also with Western Bank in Phoenix, AZ, as a Business Director before moving to SC and having her own business, Events.

    She moved to Abiquiu, NM, in 2002 with her husband, Sam Jewell. She help start the Abiquiu Boys and Girls Club and was Co-chairman with the Boys and Girls Club Del Norte, Board member of the Santa Fe Boys and Girls Club, Chairman of the Santa Fe Opera Christmas Party Committee, Board member for the New Mexico Governors Foundation. She has always been a big supporter of the Democratic Party.

  • Treasurer: John Ramon Vigil

  • Secretary: Eileen Ulibarri (secretary@rioarribadems.org)

  • Chair of rules committee: Jake Arnold.

  • Chair of platform committee: Tirzio Lopez.

Standing committees

  • Executive committee
  • Rules and credentials committee
  • Platform and resolutions committee
  • Communications committee
  • Fundraising committee